

Minnesota Freeze Win 2012 U.S. National Championship

Australian Rules Football is alive and well in Minnesota

St. Louis Park, MN (Oct.18, 2012) – The Minnesota Freeze Australian Rules Football Club (The Freeze) celebrates its 3rd National Championship with their Division 2 Men's team finishing off the Los Angeles Dragons in their final match this past weekend in Mason, Ohio. The final score was 12-3.

This year's United States Australian Football League (USAFL - www.usafl.com) National Championships were held in Mason, Ohio, bringing together over 50 clubs to compete in 4 men's and a women's division. The Freeze brought three teams to the tourney: a Division 2 and 4 men's team and a women's team. 50 players suited up to represent Minnesota at this tournament.

While all three teams played fearlessly in their matches, the men's Division 2 team went the distance, winning all three qualifying matches (vs. Boston Demons, Austin Crows and San Diego Lions) to earn the right to compete in the Grand Final.

Individual tournament honors were also garnered by Freeze players. We congratulate Zach Weaver for winning the coveted Division 2 "Most Consistent" award. Stephen Fashant took home the Division 2 Final's MVP award. Both men also represented the US at last year's International tournament, held in Australia. The Freeze provided a significant contingent to both the US Men's team (Revolution) and Women's team (Freedom). (http://www.usafl.com/usateams)

Australian Rules Football ("footy") is growing nation-wide and, despite the weather induced limited season, the Minnesota Freeze have established themselves as a hotbed for quality play and sportsmanship.

The Freeze's previous championship teams were in 2007 (Division 2) and 2005 (Division 3).

The club also thanks its sponsors, the Four Firkins craft beer store and Cara's Irish Pub Group (Kieran's, The Local, Cooper and The Liffey)

For more information about the Minnesota Freeze Australian Rules Football Club

Website: (www.mnfooty.com)
Phone: (651-343-9809)

Contacts: Chris Gabiou - Club President

Scott Johnson – Men's Coach Dale Williams – Women's Coach Andrew Warner – Men's Captain

Becky Kraft - Women's Representative

Brian Driscoll - Club Treasurer

