

June 5, 2020

Independent Monitor, Nick Mitchell

Executive Director of Public Safety, Murphy Robinson

Chief of Police, Paul Pazen

Gentlemen,

During the last days of May and first week of June, prompted by the murder of George Floyd in Minneapolis, numerous large public gatherings took place in downtown Denver including the state Capitol grounds, Civic Center and the area surrounding the City and County Building. In the course of these events crowd activity spilled over into other parts of Downtown, the Colfax Avenue corridor and surrounding neighborhoods.

The Denver Police Department was tasked with providing crowd control and public safety for these events, partnering with a number of other law enforcement agencies to assist in carrying out these duties.

Numerous news accounts and public complaints have surfaced alleging excessive use of force by Denver Police Department personnel.

Mr. Mitchell, in line with your charge to provide oversight of Denver's public safety agencies, we request that you undertake an in-depth analysis and review of Denver Police Department's exercise of their duties at the above-mentioned demonstrations. Please focus, among other things, on DPD's Use of Force policy and other relevant policies and procedures; the use of various forms of "riot" gear and equipment, chemical agents, rubber bullets and other crowd control measures; and DPD's handling of community complaints made regarding officer conduct at the demonstrations.



Mr. Robinson and Chief Pazen, we ask for your cooperation in making all relevant personnel and documents available to assist Mr. Mitchell and his staff in fulfilling the above request.

Respectfully,

Paul Kad

Paul Kashmann - Denver City Council, District 6

Chairman, Safety Committee

Jamie Torres – Denver City Council, District 3 Co-Chair, Safety Committee

Kevin Flynn – Denver City Council, District 2

Member, Safety Committee

Cobin Knisch

Robin Kniech – Denver City Council, At-Large Member, Safety Committee

Amanda Sandoval – Denver City Council, District 1

Member, Safety Committee

Amendo Sandora



Amanda Sawyer – Denver City Council, District 5 Member, Safety Committee

Jolon Clark – Denver City Council, District 7 Council President

Stacie Gilmore – Denver City Council, District 11 Council President Pro-Tem

Kendra Black – Denver City Council, District 4

Candi CdeBaca – Denver City Council, District 9

Chris Herndon – Denver City Council, District 8

hustophe of Hundon

Chris Hinds – Denver City Council, District 10

Deborah L. Ortega

Deborah Ortega – Denver City Council, At-Large