10th Legislative District Baltimore County



H-101 State House Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 410-841-3800 · 301-858-3800 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3800



June 16, 2020

The Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan Governor State House Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Governor Hogan:

The past three weeks have exposed what some of us have known for years: that enforcement of our laws has not yielded equal justice for all Marylanders. Policing in our country is broken. While we have taken some important steps together with you – most notably passage of the Justice Reinvestment Act – we have not done enough to fix policing in Maryland.

As a result of House Bill 954 of 2015 and House Bill 1016 of 2016, the Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission issued best practices, protocols, standards and data collection requirements to all law enforcement agencies in the State of Maryland to follow for use of force. But we need to do more.

We ask that you immediately sign an Executive Order for all State-controlled law enforcement agencies to <u>require</u> some of these best practices recommended by your Police Training and Standards Commission. You have under your immediate jurisdiction more than 18 law enforcement agencies (including higher education policing agencies) that can start saving lives right now. Specifically, we ask that you:

- Require that deadly force is only used to "stop an imminent threat of death or seriously bodily injury to the officer" or a citizen;<sup>1</sup>
- Require a duty to intervene for those police officers who see another officer "using force beyond what is objectively reasonable under the circumstances;"
- Implement an early warning system to identify excessive incidents involving use of force and immediately re-train that officer;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Quotes are directly from the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission Protocols and Standards for Use of Force and Use of Force Training Concepts and Best Practices. <u>https://mdle.net/pdf/UOF\_Best\_Practices.pdf</u>

10th Legislative District Baltimore County



H-101 State House Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 410-841-3800 · 301-858-3800 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3800

## The Maryland House of Delegates Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

- Ban shooting at vehicles, unless the vehicle is clearly being used for deadly force against an officer or another person; and
- Require that every officer within a State law enforcement agency sign an affirmative written sanctity of life pledge to "respect every human life" and "act with compassion toward others," as recommended by MPTSC.

In addition, we ask that you immediately ban the use of chokeholds for any State law enforcement officer.

Finally, we ask that MPTSC report to the Maryland General Assembly by July 10, 2020 which police departments in the State:

- are not reporting use of force data;
- have implemented a use of force policy;
- are requiring de-escalation, use of less lethal force and implicit bias training.

As you know, the House has convened a legislative workgroup with the full intent of mandating these things in the 2021 legislative session, in addition to other legal requirements to begin to undo the systemic inequality that our justice system continues to hand out every day. However, you have the power with the stroke of your pen to begin this process today.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Speaker Adrienne A. Jones	Chairman Luke Clippinger
Vice Chairman Vanessa Atterbeary	Majority Leader Eric Luedtke
Caucus Chair Jazz Lewis	Speaker Pro Tem Sheree Sample-Hughes

10th Legislative District Baltimore County



H-101 State House Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 410-841-3800 · 301-858-3800 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3800

## The Maryland House of Delegates Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Majority Whip Talmadge Branch	Chairman Maggie McIntosh
Chairman Dereck E. Davis	Chairman Kumar Barve
Chairman Shane Pendergrass	Chairman Anne Healey
Chairman Anne Kaiser	
Vice Chairman Kathleen Dumais	Vice Chairman Michael Jackson
Vice Chairman Dana Stein	Vice Chairman Joseline Peña-Melnyk
Vice Chairman Alonzo Washington	Vice Chairman Marvin Holmes, Jr.
Delegate Brooke Lierman	Delegate Julian Ivey
Delegate Lorig Charkoudian	Delegate Samuel Rosenberg
Delegate Vaughn Stewart	Delegate Erek Barron
Delegate Lesley Lopez	Delegate Lily Qi
Delegate Carol Krimm	Delegate Diana Fennell
Delegate Kirill Reznik	Delegate Emily Shetty
Delegate Andrea Harrison	Delegate Al Carr
Delegate Kris Valderrama	Delegate Ariana Kelly
Delegate Karen Lewis Young	Delegate David Moon
Delegate Jared Solomon	Delegate Debra Davis
Delegate Carl Jackson	Delegate Veronica Turner
Delegate Lisa Belcastro	Delegate Sheila Ruth
Delegate Sara Love	Delegate Bonnie Cullison
Delegate Marc Korman	Delegate Jared Solomon
Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield	Delegate Eric Ebersole

10th Legislative District Baltimore County



H-101 State House Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 410-841-3800 · 301-858-3800 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3800

## The Maryland House of Delegates Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Delegate Edith Patterson	Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr
Delegate Ron Watson	Delegate Mark Chang
Delegate Mary Lehman	Delegate Tony Bridges
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith	Delegate Pam Queen
Delegate Jon Cardin	Delegate Darryl Barnes
Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins	Delegate Sandy Bartlett
Delegate Nick Mosby	Delegate Jim Gilchrist
Delegate Wanika Fisher	Delegate Ken Kerr
Delegate Nicole Williams	Delegate Heather Bagnall
Delegate Dalya Attar	Delegate Michele Guyton
Delegate Steve Johnson	Delegate Benjamin Brooks
Delegate Ned Carey	Delegate Jessica Feldmark
Delegate Terri Hill	Delegate Ben Barnes
Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo	Delegate Jen Terrasa
Delegate C.T. Wilson	Delegate Melissa Wells
Delegate Robbyn Lewis	Delegate Mike Rogers
Delegate Curt Anderson	Delegate Harry Bhandari
Delegate Nick Charles	Delegate Dana Jones
Delegate Pat Young	Delegate Cathi Forbes
Delegate Keith Haynes	Delegate Frank Conaway
Delegate Chanel Branch	Delegate Brian Crosby
Delegate Jay Walker	Delegate Regina Boyce

10th Legislative District Baltimore County



H-101 State House Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 410-841-3800 · 301-858-3800 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3800

## The Maryland House of Delegates Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Delegate Stephanie Smith	Delegate Susie Proctor
Delegate Shaneka Henson	Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti
Delegate Gabriel Acevero	Delegate Jay Jalisi